About Meskwaki Natural Resources

The Start of the MNR Department  

The Meskwaki Natural Resource Department was established in 2001 with the guidance of the Tribal Council of the Sac & Fox Tribe of the Mississippi in Iowa.  MNR is responsible for the management, protection, and conservation of the forests, fish, wildlife, energy, environment, land, water, and all other natural resources of the Tribe. The department started with two employees and has grown to a team of nine full-time and an average of four temporary staff, all with diverse backgrounds.    

Our Mission

It is the goal of the MNR to preserve, conserve, and restore the natural resources of the Tribe with the focal purpose of restoring and protecting opportunities for the current and future generations.  MNR continuously develops and implements diverse programs that help preserve the Meskwaki culture and natural characteristics of the Tribal lands to allow tribal members to continue practicing their way of life free from the risk factors.

Meet the MNR Team

Riley Buley

Senior Water Lead

Natural Resources

riley.buley@meskwaki-nsn.gov
641-484-3511

Valentin Elsaesser

Land Specialist

Natural Resources

valentin.elsaesser@meskwaki-nsn.gov
641-484-3511

Thomas Peters

Conservation Aide

Natural Resources

thomas.peters@meskwaki-nsn.gov
641-484-3511

Jarrett Pfrimmer

Natural Resources Director

Natural Resources

jarrett.pfrimmer@meskwaki-nsn.gov
641-484-3511

Kelly Schott

Environmental Branch Coordinator

Natural Resources

kelly.schott@meskwaki-nsn.gov
641-484-3511

Megan Volkens

Land & Wildlife Branch Coordinator

Natural Resources

megan.dietrich@meskwaki-nsn.gov
641-484-3511

Nina Youngbear

Office Assistant

Natural Resources

nina.youngbear@meskwaki-nsn.gov
641-484-3511

Kane Young Bear

Conservation Aide

Natural Resources

kane.youngbear@meskwaki-nsn.gov
641-484-3511

Stacy Youngbear

Land Specialist

Natural Resources

stacy.youngbear@meskwaki-nsn.gov
641-484-3511

Learn More About the MNR Department

Visit our department page to learn more about our different branches and check out our recent projects.