Young Women Honored

On Sunday, May 7th, Meskwaki 7th and 8th grade young women were honored with awards from our local chapter of the American Association of University women.

Each year teachers write a letter to the AAUW and nominate young women in the core areas of  Math, Science, Social Studies, and English.

The local chapter is comprised of local women who have graduated from college or university and wish to promote the success of future women.

Awards were given to:
Front row: (L – R) Geanna Bear (Literacy – 7), Maliah Ortiz, Sandra Velazquez, Deandra Navarro (Literacy -8), Irene Keahna, Shye Johnson (Social Studies -7), Genesis Ramirez (Science – 8).

Back row: Summer Youngbear (Math -7) , Nina Jean Seymour (Social Studies – 8) Aubrey Roberts (Literacy – 8 -STC)  and Breann Kurth.

Not pictured: Lyrise BlackCloud (Science – 7) and Ahnoong Xiavong (Math – 8).

Congrats to these future Meskwaki leaders.  Dream big and be great!